top of page

The Fizz - formerly Bucks Fizz - are a British pop group that achieved success in the 1980s, most notably for winning the 1981 Eurovision Song Contest with the song "Making Your Mind Up". The group was formed in January 1981 specifically for the contest and comprised four vocalists: Bobby GCheryl BakerMike Nolan and Jay Aston. They achieved instant attention with the dance routine which accompanied the song, involving a skirt-rip. The group went on to have a successful career around the world (albeit ignored in the United States), while the UK remained their biggest market, where they had three No.1 singles with "Making Your Mind Up" (1981), "The Land of Make Believe" (1981) and "My Camera Never Lies" (1982) and became one of the top-selling groups of the 1980s. They also had UK Top 10 hits with "Now Those Days Are Gone" (1982), "If You Can't Stand the Heat" (1982), "When We Were Young" (1983) and "New Beginning (Mamba Seyra)" (1986). Their worldwide record sales have exceeded 15 million.

On 6 December 2016 the group released a CD re-recording of Bucks Fizz's biggest hit, "The Land of Make Believe", produced by Mike Stock. The limited edition CD sold out on pre-release. This was followed by a digital download version on 09 December 2016.

After re-launching as "The Fizz" the group released their first studio album in over thirty years via crowd-funding site - Pledge Music in September 2017. 'The f - z Of Pop', produced by Mike Stock, hit 25 in the UK Official Album Chart - the band's first chart success in three decades and was BBC Radio 2's Album Of The Week during the week of release. 

In 2018 recording had begun on the follow up to 'The f - z Of Pop' when Jay Aston was diagnosed with mouth cancer. Before several operations would leave her unable to sing, she recorded vocals for the band's first ever Christmas album - 'Christmas With The Fizz'. After a successful operation, Jay was able to rejoin her bandmates for a number of shows in the UK and help with promotional appearances for the Christmas album.

In 2020 The Fizz released their third album in as many years, with Smoke & Mirrors. The album hit number 29 on the Official UK Chart and, more impressively, numbers 6 and 3 in the Official UK Sales Chart and Official Independent Album Chart respectively.

In 2022 they released their fourth Mike Stock produced album, Everything Under The Sun, on CD and downloads exclusively through The Fizz website.



bottom of page